

## **News Release**

For Immediate Release

## Premier Taptuna announces changes to senior management

**IQALUIT, Nunavut (November 27, 2015) –** Premier Taptuna today announced changes to the Government of Nunavut's (GN) senior management.

"With the recent changes in executive council, now is the time to strategically realign senior management within our government departments," said Premier Taptuna. "These changes reflect the strengths of our public service leaders and the importance of refocusing those assets among our departments."

Effective December 7, 2015:

- Sherri Rowe moves from the position of Chief Executive Officer of the Nunavut Business Credit Corporation to Deputy Minister for Economic Development and Transportation;
- Pauloosie Suvega moves from Deputy Minister for Economic Development and Transportation to Deputy Minister of Culture and Heritage;
- Joe Adla Kunuk moves from Deputy Minister of Culture and Heritage to President of Nunavut Arctic College; and
- Peter Ma transitions from President of Nunavut Arctic College to Chief Executive Officer of the Nunavut Business Credit Corporation.

Effective January 11, 2016, Terry Audla, former Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami president, will become President of the Nunavut Housing Corporation.

Effective January 18, 2016, Lori Kimball will move from President of the Nunavut Housing Corporation to Deputy Minister for Community and Government Services. Roy Green, current Deputy Minister for Community and Government Services, has announced his retirement, effective January 30, 2016. Effective January 25, 2016, William MacKay, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs, will become Deputy Minister of Justice for a six-month term, while there is a countrywide search for a permanent deputy minister. Elizabeth Sanderson, current Deputy Minister of Justice, completes her term effective January 25, 2016.

###

## Media Contact:

Yasmina Pepa Chief, Public Affairs Office of Premier Taptuna 867-975-5059 ypepa@gov.nu.ca